Photo by Sara Haj-Hassan at FreeImages

Going Through Library Withdrawal?

Joy Anne
2 min readDec 15, 2020

You are not alone. I am having a rough time without my weekly and as-needed pilgrimages…

The public library is my sanctuary, my refuge, my retreat. My struggle is soothed by those quiet aisles filled with friendly guides waiting patiently to teach, inspire, and entertain. When frustration threatens to overwhelm me, the public library rekindles my hope and I emerge ready to take at least one more step.

Without being able to browse regularly, I am growing brittle. I feel lost and disconnected. Doubt thrives.

I am grateful for the materials available online. And I miss libraries. Not only shelves of books to wander down, breathing deeply the bouquet of wood pulp and ink, head cocked to scan spines. The serendipity of finding a title with a message that you didn’t know you needed to hear. The opportunity to be around people where it is acceptable to not talk with any of them. Free internet access and public restrooms. A comfortable place to sit while waiting for the bus to come, or a storm to pass, whether it rages outside or internally.

Like so many things we miss from pre-pandemic days, we don’t know when libraries will be open normally again, if ever. I hope there is a happy ending I can add here later.

--

--